A Slice of Life 2012

A Year In Pictures

Awful! January 19, 2012

Filed under: 52/366 Challenge — Tammy @ 8:00 am
Tags: ,

Many insects and small animals would find these plants AWFUL!  I went to Lauritzen Gardens new display of Wicked Plants today.  Once inside I found my favorites…the Venus Fly Trap and the Tropical Pitcher Plant.  Both of these plants contain a slippery inside with fluid which drowns insects and small animals and allows them to become trapped so that the plant can slowly digest them….these always remind me of my favorite musical….Little Shop of Horrors.  “FEED ME SEYMOR!”

 

16 Responses to “Awful!”

  1. Sherrie Says:

    Hi Tammy,
    How awesome you have a garden to see these plants. I’ve not seen them in person, only in pictures or t.v. You did a wonderful job capturing them. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  2. John & Lois Says:

    Fascinating and scary flowers.

  3. mikec366 Says:

    Hi Tammy, These kind of things give me the heebie-jeebies…. Bugs, insects and things that eat them. Lovely colours and dof.
    M.

  4. thello Says:

    Yes, awful and very beautiful. Very well done images!

  5. Steve Says:

    Very cool plants…I love them…Nice detailed shots

  6. kimandrew Says:

    I’ve never seen a Tropical Pitcher plant before. Way cool photo.

    I also like “Little Shop of Horrors”. Hubby took me to see it down in L.A. years ago. So fun.

  7. Cathy Says:

    Fantastic images, so sharp and detailed.

  8. danudin Says:

    Corey, Ryan and Me all love any plant that devours livid critters. Gotta Love Carnivors. Haaaaaaaaa

  9. Ericca Says:

    These are beautiful images! It’s amazing that the plants almost look animistic (especially your venus fly trap).

  10. Nan Says:

    Great colors and close ups. I’ve always been fascinated by these plants.

  11. Bobbie Says:

    That top one is totally Audrey–I wouldn’t want to put a finger near it.

  12. Kathryn Says:

    Awful – but beautiful just the same.

  13. Ellen Says:

    Audrey for sure! These are great as is the oleander above. The book ‘Wicked Plants’ is a good read but this looks like a fine display, especially so well shot and being in the dead of winter.

  14. PatB Says:

    Beautiful job of photographing these up close and capturing all that detail. They are both so interesting!

  15. PC PHOTO Says:

    Wickedly terrific photos !!!

  16. Scrap Chef Says:

    Feed me, Tammy! These are great. I tried buying “pet” carnivorous plants several times but never could keep them alive. They’re so scary and primitive, I love them!


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers