A Slice of Life 2012

A Year In Pictures

Cold January 4, 2012

Filed under: 52/366 Challenge — Tammy @ 8:00 am
Tags: ,

I think I am safe to say that ice is cold!  It amazes me that with the warmer weather we have there is still ice around the lakes and pond’s edges.  I love how the melting snow and ice creates ice sculptures!

Doesn’t this one look like a bird??

And this one like a snake??

And I see a dinosaur here…can anyone find his face?

It is amazing what we can find in nature if we just open our eyes!

 

21 Responses to “Cold”

  1. Ericca Says:

    Wow!! When I saw your first picture, I wondered how in the world did you get that bird like ice there. After reading your post and looking a bit closer I now understand. Sorry, I had a dim moment. lol… The ice formations are really suggestive of other things. 🙂

  2. Sherrie Says:

    Hi Tammy,
    These are awesome! Like that bird ice, really cool what mother nature accomplishes. Have a great day!

    Sherrie

  3. thellinoony Says:

    Good eye! Nature is an artist!

  4. Deena Says:

    Pretty cool. Just shows what one can see if one keeps their eyes and imagination open.

  5. Great vision to see these ….and well taken too…I find ice shapes quite difficult to capture

  6. danudin Says:

    Do you gather that to put in your drinks Tammy or is it only Hot Toddies now?

  7. Lisa Says:

    And it’s so much prettier that it’s your ice and not here 😉 Hope you didn’t get too cold finding all these interesting shapes. Kind of like a Rorschach test!

  8. Iris (Rose) Says:

    love the ‘bird’ on a twig – it is amazing what we see when we really look 🙂

  9. lsvejda Says:

    Love the icy bird on the twig. Great captures of nature’s ice sculpture.

  10. jackscrap Says:

    Mother Nature getting her creativity streak into gear. There’s not much ice around here but finding shapes in the clouds can get one’s imagination going.

  11. PC PHOTO Says:

    I almost see what you do. Your bird looks like a manatee to me.

  12. That top one really does look like a bird!

  13. hmca14 Says:

    Posting the three images together was a great idea. If you had only posted the one it could have been thought of as a fluke…but posting all three is like an invitation to the viewer to see what we can find. Thankfully although it’s been pretty cold here….20…..when I went out early this morning…… we don’t have any ice sculptures around yet!

  14. Vicki Says:

    Aren’t you the clever one! I love that these shots are so sharp and so … well … cold!

  15. regularman Says:

    Very cool Tammy. And yet the little people insist on skating on my ice cubes. 😉

  16. Wayne Says:

    Love them all Tammy but # 3 is the bestest of all!!

  17. lisa Says:

    I see his face!
    Really neat macros!

  18. Nice find of these beautiful ice animal figurines

  19. Mike Says:

    The ice makes great shapes too!

  20. Bobbie Says:

    The top one really does look like a robin on a stem…wishful image. to me, the middle one looks like a worm and the bottom one like an amoeba. I guess I’m into invertebrates.

  21. bonniegunkel Says:

    I am definitely learning from you my friend! They do look like the animals you stated, and the dinosaur one looks like it has one of those glue on googly eyes! You’re awesome at catching things like this in nature. 🙂


Leave a Reply

