A Slice of Life 2012

A Year In Pictures

Keepsakes January 25, 2012

Filed under: 52/366 Challenge — Tammy @ 8:00 am
Tags: ,

As many of you know, this past summer we had a big family reunion in Oregon.  My dad’s cousin spent years trying to follow the Day’s (my maiden name) family tree.  I helped her scan and print tons of pictures and she was kind enough to give me many of the original pictures.  She even gave me the diary of my Great Grandmother (Corrine)  from when she was 13 years old.  I had to get a magnifying glass to read it (man did she write small)…but I have really enjoyed hearing about her daily routines and friends.  I tell you what, if I had the chores she had at 13, they would have never gotten done!  It is amazing how hard life was back then, but also amazing that she had the same thoughts as many 13 year old girls today.  Also pictured is Corrine’s family picture…she is the young woman standing in the back row.  I will always cherish all of these keepsakes and the knowledge of where I came from.  One interesting fact I learned that I never knew…my grandfather was a photographer in his early days.  I remember all his old slides that we would look at for hours when I was a little girl, but had no idea he had taken them all.  I wish I knew what happened to all those old slides…nobody seems to know!

 

17 Responses to “Keepsakes”

  1. John & Lois Says:

    Love the way you set up and photographed your great grandmother’s family photo and her diary. Hopefully your grandfather’s slides will surface. Old photos, letters and diaries are the best keepsakes.

  2. regularman Says:

    Beautiful set up Tammy!

  3. PC PHOTO Says:

    How wonderful to be a part of organizing the family history and be able to share with us!

  4. Steve Says:

    Great commentary and image….it irks me that we have very few old images like this in our family…I have managed to trace back to late 1700’s thanks in aprt to an old family bible that came into my Mother’s possesion

  5. danudin Says:

    Your learning of her now, brings her back to life for a while, if we had t do what our forebears did, progress would have ceased, or the Earth would be flat!

  6. MikeC366 Says:

    Have very little old and memorable. Hold on to them Tammy.
    M.

  7. Bobbie Says:

    What a rich composite–the people look so solemn, but one can see a spark of curiosity in that young girl’s eyes.

  8. hmca14 Says:

    Great post……. the diary is a treasure….how interesting it must be to read! Like your arrangement, and the part of the diary with the old lettering in particular!

  9. Lisa Says:

    How lovely that you are able to learn about her and piece together some of the family history. We always wish we’d asked more questions.

  10. thello Says:

    So wonderful, love this kind of pictures. Seems to me as if it was a cohesive family in a very good sense!

  11. Steven Says:

    How neat is it that you have the photo and the diary. It makes for a cool connection. I have a lot of my deceased relatives diaries and I have a hard time reading the cursive style they used back then.

  12. bonniegunkel Says:

    How awesome for you! I know this is something you will forever treasure. 🙂

  13. That’s a beautiful photo, Tammy! And a real treasure to have all the family stories and papers.

  14. Ellen Says:

    Your composing of the scene and the shot is perfect! What treasures indeed!

  15. Deena Says:

    Nicely displayed! A great family heirloom.

  16. Ericca Says:

    You are so blessed to have these pieces! Wow… It would be wonderful to have something like this to pass down to my children and their children. I keep a journal, but not as dutifully as I should. Thank you so much for sharing this! 🙂

  17. KarenAnn Says:

    I absolutely love how you have photographed this heirloom. Have been working on a similar project myself. Am just a nut for old photos etc and am glad you are preserving the past too.


Leave a Reply

